Best of the Best: Milanovich named 2012 Coach of the Year | | Official Site of the Canadian Football League
Scott Milanovich 1-on-1 Staff

REGINA -- Toronto Argonauts head coach Scott Milanovich has been named the 2012 CFL Coach of the Year. CFL Commissioner Mark Cohon  presented Milanovich the Annis Stukus trophy at a luncheon today in Regina as part of the CFL Congress.

"On behalf of the entire league, congratulations on a remarkable year," Cohon said. "For a coach to do what Scott did in his first season as head coach is simply amazing."

After being hired in the off-season, Milanovich took over an Argonauts team that finished out of the playoffs in 2011 with a 6-12 record. In 2012, he led them to a 9-9 record, second place in the East Division and its first home playoff game since 2007.

In the playoffs, Milanovich's Argonauts defeated the Edmonton Eskimos at home and their rival Montral Alouettes on the road to earn a berth in the 100th Grey Cup in their own backyard.

The Argos completed their perfect post-season with a 35-22 victory over the Calgary Stampeders to capture the organization's 16th Grey Cup and first since 2004.

The CFL Coach of the Year award was voted on by 45 members of the Football Reporters of Canada.

"In a year that we celebrated many of our great players and coaches of our storied past, the 2012 season showcased the exciting players and coaches of our bright future," remarked Cohon. "Scott is certainly a part of that group and we look forward to seeing him on the sidelines for many years to come."

More on Scott Milanovich's 2012 season:  

- Led the Argos to their first Grey Cup title since 2004.

- Joined Mike Clemons as only the second Argos head coach since 1952 to win three straight post-season games.

- Became the first Toronto Argonauts head coach since the formation of the IRFU in 1907 (105 years) to take a team that did not finish above .500 all the way to the Grey Cup title.

- His 9 regular season wins matched the Argonauts best record since 2007.

- Joined Adam Rita (1991) as the only Toronto rookie head coaches to win the Grey Cup since 1952.

Fan Comments
In a Horse Race the 1st Place always gets the Roses.
March 01, 2013 - 12:00am
philp37: The "coach of the year" is "usually" awarded to the coach who most improved his team from the previous regular season. The regular season records show Calgary improved by 1 win, B.C. by 2 wins and Toronto by 3 wins. Had this been awarded two months previous the results would have been the same!
February 28, 2013 - 7:55pm
Very sad the CFL just doesn't seem to realize that this award should have been awarded 2 or months ago when it was current, warrented and relevant. I remember the reasons why the award was shifted to the end of February; but in today's CFL those reasons are no longer relevant and in fact an announcement this late turns news on this item into detriment to the league. Marketing 101 baby!
February 28, 2013 - 5:00pm
I think its deserved and hopefully the fans there are recharged. yes it was alot to do with ricky but chad got them outta tight spots on key downs from the run. great defensive coach too, scott just had to keep a level head and steady the ship...good enough
February 28, 2013 - 4:26pm
als rule
what a surprise!!
February 28, 2013 - 4:00pm
Actually I would have been more surprised if Milanovich HADN'T been named Coach of the Year! Congratulations!
February 28, 2013 - 3:55pm