Canadians dominate divisional player awards | | Official Site of the Canadian Football League Staff

TORONTO -- The Canadian Football League announced today the 2013 Gibson’s Finest Most Outstanding Players for the East and West Divisions and they included a record number of Canadians. A total of seven Canadian players were honoured for eight most outstanding player awards, the most in league history.

Several of this year’s winners were also setting records on the field, combing to set six CFL single season records: most rushing yards by a Canadian (Jon Cornish), most yards from scrimmage by a Canadian (Jon Cornish), most consecutive field-goals made (Rene Paredes), highest field-goal percentage (Rene Paredes), highest pass completion percentage (Ricky Ray) and highest pass efficiency (Ricky Ray).

“Our players continue to play at an extremely high level, setting new records and providing our fans with exciting games and an exciting product,” said CFL Commissioner Mark Cohon. “On behalf of our entire league and our fans, congratulations to all of this year’s divisional winners -- a very well deserved honour.”

This year’s winners are:

Most Outstanding Player:
Jon Cornish (CGY) | Ricky Ray (TOR)

Most Outstanding Defensive Player:
Charleston Hughes (CGY) | Chip Cox (MTL)

Most Outstanding Canadian:
Jon Cornish (CGY) | Henoc Muamba (WPG)

Most Outstanding Special Teams Player:
Rene Paredes (CGY) | Marc Beswick (HAM)

Most Outstanding Rookie:
Brett Jones (CGY) | CJ Gable (HAM)

Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman:
Brendon LaBatte (SSK) | Jeff Keeping (TOR)

Cornish could become the first Canadian player to be named CFL Most Outstanding Player since Tony Gabriel in 1978. Only two Canadian players have been named the CFL Most Outstanding Player – Gabriel (1978) and Russ Jackson (1969, 1966, 1963).

This marks the first time that both divisional winners for Most Outstanding Special Teams Players are Canadian since the award’s inaugural season in 1999.

The last Canadian player to be named the CFL Most Outstanding Rookie was Jason Clermont in 2002. Only four Canadian Players have been named the CFL Most Outstanding Rookie – Clermont (2002), Michael O’Shea (1993), Orville Lee (1988), and Joe Poplawski (1978).

The last time both East and West Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman were both Canadian was in 2008 when Scott Flory and Gene Makowsky were honoured.

The East and West Player Award winners were selected by 77 voters, including members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) and CFL head coaches.

Voters were asked to select players from their local CFL division who, through on-field performance excellence, best represent the awards’ title – Most Outstanding Player, Most Outstanding Canadian Player, Most Outstanding Defensive Player, Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Most Outstanding Rookie and Most Outstanding Special Teams Player.

Fan Comments
Winners - Cornish, Hughes, Muamba (give him a break for being on a lousy team!)Gable, Keeping. Much as Beswick has been a real anchor on STs for the past five years and coached up the young players this year while leading the league in ST tackles, realistically this will go to Parades who has had an outstanding season. Putting points on the board gets more notice than stopping the returner!
November 07, 2013 - 8:02pm
Let us sincerely hope so, RedDog. It is heartening to see Canadian players rising to the top of our league and bodes well for the future. Now we need to see Canadian QBs start to take their place in the CFL. Congratulations to all the winners - well deserved honors in every category.
November 07, 2013 - 7:53pm
Great to see all the Canadians who made it to the finals. This speaks well for football in Canada, and hopefully this will spark more interest and development of talented players.

And maybe, just maybe, spark some more fan interest in our larger centres.
November 07, 2013 - 5:20pm
I hope the commenters on this site will view the playoffs with an open mind and view talent and not favoritism. Everyone wants their team to win and their players to shine, however, a lot of us want to stuff the ballots with their teams players. May the best team win and I hope it's the Stampeders!!!
November 07, 2013 - 12:32pm
We'll The Stamps play the Lions or the Roughriders.The road to Regina is through Cowtown.Saddle Up!
November 07, 2013 - 1:28pm
According to my CFL Facts, Figures, & Records book, it was changed in 1981 from Eastern & Western Conference to East & West Divisions.
November 07, 2013 - 12:22pm
als rule
funny, believe you BUT I'm looking at my ticket stub from the eastern final in montreal in 2003 and it says right on my stub put on by scotiabank the final game of the eastern conference!!
November 07, 2013 - 6:27pm
This really is becoming OUR League !
November 07, 2013 - 12:12pm
Nice to see so many Canadian players as finalists.
November 07, 2013 - 11:47am
als rule
congrats to all!! my prediction on the winners: cornish, cornish, cox, LaBatte, paredes and jones!!
November 07, 2013 - 11:28am
Although I enjoyed the excitment & Talent that Gable brought to OUR Game , I don't agree he is eligable to be considered a Rookie. He spent a year in NFL (2 teams) & 1 in the Indoor League ! Even if he never played in a NFL game he was at training camp learning more than College could teach. This is unfqir to the real Rookies. Rules need to be revisited to make it fair. Do we allow a seasoned NFL player rookie status because henever played in the CFL ?
November 07, 2013 - 4:19pm
FBF54 - I think you might be confusing Gable with Ellingson who was playing in the AFL before being signed by the Ticats. Don't think Gable even attended TC in the NFL - was overlooked until Ticats gave him his chance.
November 07, 2013 - 7:54pm
C J Gable's Bio reads :
2013: Released by the Nebraska Danger on February 28

2012: Signed by the Nebraska Danger of the Indoor Football League on October 24

2011: Signed with the NFL’s New Orleans Saints as an undrafted free agent on July 26…was waived by the Saints during training camp on August 4…claimed off of waivers by the Denver Broncos on August 6…was waived by the Broncos on August 29
November 07, 2013 - 11:36pm
als rule
when did this change occur or not occur: when did division(NFL)replace conference(CFL)?!! funny BUT conference hardly ever appears anymore why?!!
November 07, 2013 - 10:21am