Capping it off: Chamblin named 2013 Coach of the Year | | Official Site of the Canadian Football League
Coach of the Year: Corey Chamblin 1-on-1

OTTAWA -- Saskatchewan Roughriders head coach Corey Chamblin has been named the recipient of the Annis Stukus Trophy for being the 2013 CFL Coach of the Year.

Coach Chamblin was presented the award today by CFL Commissioner Mark Cohon at a luncheon in Ottawa, Ontario as part of the CFL’s annual league meetings.

“Coach Chamblin did a remarkable job of leading his players through adversity, high expectations and the ups and downs of a season,” said Commissioner Cohon.

“His Roughriders captured the hearts of not only Rider Nation, but Canadians across the country. On behalf of the entire league and our fans from coast to coast, congratulations on this distinct honour.”

Chamblin led the Riders to their fourth championship in franchise history, and their first Grey Cup victory in front of their hometown crowd in Rider Nation.

After winning their first five games of the season, the Riders finished with an 11-7 record and second place in the West Division. They hosted the BC Lions in the Western Semi-Final and won 29-25. The Roughriders would go on to defeat the first place Calgary Stampeders in the Western Final 35-13 and earn a berth in the 101st Grey Cup.

In the 101st Grey Cup, Chamblin's Roughriders were up against the East Division Champion Tiger-Cats, a team led by 2013 Coach of the Year Finalist Kent Austin. Under the leadership of their second-year head coach, the Riders went on to defeat the Ticats 45-23 at Mosaic Stadium.

The CFL Coach of the Year is selected by 59 voting members of the Football Reports of Canada. Chamblin received 39 first place votes.

Fan Comments
What, no love for The Hawk??

Seriously though, great job Mr. Chamblin, hope you're rewarded with a big fat raise!!
February 08, 2014 - 7:59pm
GC Bound
Yes, Great season and story of hard work, some luck, and believing!
Go Riders Go!
February 06, 2014 - 12:30pm
Chamblin persevered through a long grinding season with the GC in Regina. He came from behind to beat a game BC team. Went into Calgary and rode rough shod over my Horses. The EAST was a walk through. Any WEST contender would have beat Hamilton and Austin in the GC. Interestingly, 39 out of 59 guys got it right.
February 05, 2014 - 10:19pm
I'm not sure if the award takes into account the playoffs or just the regular season. If its based on both, no doubt Chamblin deserves the award. If its based on just the regular season, there is a pretty good argument for John Hufnagel to have won it. However, he had the most pressure of any coach, living in the fishbowl of Rider Nation and the opportunity to win the championship right at home, so in that respect he's the most worthy choice.
February 05, 2014 - 4:07pm
Forget the sham of nominating and voting for COY if it is automatically going to be given the the coach of the GC winning team! @Horses123 - NO the wrong choice IMO!
February 05, 2014 - 3:03pm
it is not "automaticlly " won by the GC winning team's coach. case in point

2010 GC winner: Montreal, CotY Jim Barker, Toronto
2005 GC Winner: Edmonton, CotY Tom Higgins, Calgary
2004 GC Winner: Toronto, CotY Greg Marshall, Hamilton
2001 GC Winner: Calgary, CotY Dave Ritchie, Winnipeg
2000 GC Winner: BC, CotY Charlie Taaffe, Montreal

so, even i nthe last 14 years, 5 times it has NOT gone to the GC winning team's coach, while 9 times it has. thats a bit better then 33% or 1 in 3 that it doesn't. doesn't scream "automatic" to me
February 05, 2014 - 6:21pm
als rule
@C14: you have to make allowances for TFmcb, he hates to lose anything concerning his tiger-cats to anybody!!
February 05, 2014 - 7:01pm
Their is a reason why you guys got stomped in the Grey Cup, you snuck in. Like the 1997 Roughriders, weren't a championship calibre team. Cats will be soon though, will be tough for years.
February 05, 2014 - 7:02pm
als rule
of course he did!!
February 05, 2014 - 2:11pm
Excellent choice!!!
February 05, 2014 - 1:24pm