Chamblin, Austin, Hufnagel named COY finalists | | Official Site of the Canadian Football League
WATCH LIVE: will stream Commissioner Jeffrey Orridge's first ever State of the League address on at 10am ET > CLICK HERE for more. Staff

TORONTO -- The Canadian Football League announced today the finalists for the 2013 Annis Stukus Trophy, awarded to the CFL Coach of the Year. As voted by 58 members of the Football Reporters of Canada, the finalists are Hamilton Tiger-Cats Head Coach, General Manager and Vice President of Football Operations Kent Austin, Saskatchewan Roughriders Head Coach Corey Chamblin, and Calgary Stampeders Head Coach and General Manager John Hufnagel.

The 2013 CFL Coach of the Year will be presented the Annis Stukus trophy on February 5, 2014 in Ottawa, Ontario as part of the CFL's annual Congress.

Kent Austin - Hamilton Tiger-Cats
In just his first season as head coach of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats, Kent Austin led his team to an appearance in the 101st Grey Cup, the team's first showing in the championship game since 1999. But what may be most impressive is the journey Austin and the Tiger-Cats took to get there.

It all started in Guelph, Ontario, where the Ticats played their home games while Tim Hortons Field, their brand new stadium, is being built. With one of the youngest teams in the league, and playing their home games in a temporary stadium, the Ticats finished the season with a 10-8 record, good enough for second place in the East Division after starting the year with one win in their first five outings.

Finishing in second place earned them the opportunity to host a playoff game for the first time since 2010. Austin's Ticats took full advantage, defeating the Montreal Alouettes 19-16 in adverse weather conditions at Alumni Stadium in Guelph.

The Ticats then defeated the Toronto Argonauts, the reigning Grey Cup champions and their long-time rivals, on their home turf in the Eastern Final.
Austin won the Annis Stukus trophy in 2007 as head coach of the Saskatchewan Roughriders.

Fan Poll
Who will be named the 2013 Coach of the Year?
1) Kent Austin
2) Corey Chamblin
3) John Hufnagel

Corey Chamblin - Saskatchewan Roughriders
In a year full of high expectations, Saskatchewan Roughriders head coach Corey Chamblin delivered the ultimate prize: a Grey Cup. And not only did he lead the Riders to their fourth championship in franchise history, he did it by winning it in the heart of Rider Nation, on their home field at Mosaic Stadium.

After winning their first five games of the season, the Riders finished with an 11-7 record and second place in the West Division. They hosted the BC Lions in the Western Semi-Final and won 29-25. The Roughriders would go on to defeat the first place Calgary Stampeders in the Western Final 35-13 and earn a berth in the 101st Grey Cup.

In the Grey Cup, Chamblin's Roughriders were up against the East Division Champion Tiger-Cats, a team led by head coach Kent Austin who won a Grey Cup as a head coach and quarterback with Roughriders in 1989 and 2007, respectively.  Under the leadership of their second-year head coach, the Riders went on to defeat the Ticats 45-23 in front of their home crowd. This was the first time the Roughriders won the Grey Cup on Saskatchewan soil.

This is Chamblin's first coach of the year nomination.

John Hufnagel - Calgary Stampeders
In his sixth season as head coach and general manager of the Stampeders, Hufnagel guided the Stamps to a league-best 14-4 record. That was the best victory total by a CFL team since 2009 and the best by a West Division team since 2007. The impressive record was accumulated despite the fact injuries forced the Stamps to use three different starting quarterbacks throughout the season. Calgary was also without key players such as Corey Mace and all-stars Dimitri Tsoumpas and Nik Lewis for extended periods.

The Stamps were either first or second in a number of categories including points scored, points allowed, home record and away record, net offence, rushing yards, sacks and fewest sacks allowed.

This is Hufnagel's third nomination. He won the Coach of the Year award in 2008.

Fan Comments
als rule
without question the winner is corey chamblin!!
February 04, 2014 - 6:05pm
@Pride Lives Here - You really think that there was NO expectation on Austin this season? He was expected to take the Ticats from bad to contention all while having the dual roles of HC and GM - and he more than delivered! And the last time I checked there were more CFL teams OUTSIDE of the Golden Horseshoe than in it. Journalists from ALL teams make nominations and vote on this award!
January 21, 2014 - 12:23am
als rule, you are wise beyond your years. You called it perfectly!!!
January 20, 2014 - 2:43pm
This award should be presented with the rest of them. In the middle of January is such a weird time.
January 20, 2014 - 2:38pm
als rule
@M: it gives the CFL some PR in the middle of winter!!
January 20, 2014 - 5:14pm
RIDER FAN ALERT (You have been warned)
Obviously my vote goes to Chamblin. I've read a few places that SK "bought" their team. True, there were some big name players that came in for this year. Did you ever think that maybe Coach Chamblin had something to do with it? I doubt Taman makes all his decisions alone. Not to mention the fact that three seasons ago, before chamblin came in, The riders were in the same boat as the Bombers were this past year - He came and picked us back up.
That being said, I can definitely see the arguments for austin. Hamilton hasn't been a real contender for awhile, and he definitely made something happen over there. Glad to see them rise back up to the top of the East!
Finally. Were this Coach of the Regular Season - I 'd give Huffy a chance. But this is Coach of the YEAR, that includes the Playoffs. Did you see that western final? It looked like he was coaching a bunch of Highschool Students! I'm sorry, I just can't rightfully give Huf a fair chance in this one.
January 20, 2014 - 2:14pm
IMHO Chamblin is hands down Coach of the Year, especially with the HUGE amount of expectation and living in the fish bowl that is Rider Nation.

With the vote skew of the majority of the voters living in the golden horseshoe - center of the universe - Austin will get most of the votes and therefore win by default.

I wonder if Huffer will stomp out of the banquet before they announce the winner this year? Like he did last year.

Oh well - Coach C has all the hardware to prove he is the best, that's all that counts, plus the life size statue that will be put up at the new stadium - again IMHO.

January 20, 2014 - 1:36pm
From my vantage point here in the centre of the universe, it seems like every CFL poll is skewed by RIDER FANS! :)
January 20, 2014 - 5:04pm
You are absolutely right lordbyron...this site is statistically dominated by Riders fans...I am one, but Kent Austin deserves Coach of the Year, no question. Absolutely huge that he finally got the Cats over .500!
January 20, 2014 - 6:33pm
Should be Austin or Hufnagel, both overcame a lot this year. Chamblins team started hot but finished 6-7. They won the Cup so he will most likely win
January 20, 2014 - 12:13pm
If winning the Grey Cup is the only thing that matters in determining who receives the award, then there would be no need for any vote!
January 20, 2014 - 1:27pm
Ya, if winning the Grey Cup is all that matters, there's no need for the award at all!
January 20, 2014 - 5:02pm
@Hammer & lordbyron - I agree completely! This should be Austin's award - no contest!
January 20, 2014 - 12:07pm
als rule
@TFmcb: of course you do!!
January 20, 2014 - 1:27pm
als rule
@TFmcb: of course you do!!
January 20, 2014 - 3:02pm
als rule
chamblin, austin and hufnagel!!
January 20, 2014 - 11:52am
I'll eat my hat if Kent Austin doesn't win.
January 20, 2014 - 10:30am
« < 1 2 > »