History | CFL.ca | Official Site of the Canadian Football League


The only two-game total-point series in Grey Cup history was played. Ottawa defeated Toronto Balmy Beach 8-2 and 12-5. The series was arranged by the Canadian Rugby Union when it refused to allow Winnipeg Blue Bombers, the Western winners, to compete in the final because the West had played its season under rules which varied from rules in the East.


Calgary left the WIFU and Vancouver Grizzlies joined. IRFU was renamed Eastern Canada Union for one season.


WIFU and IRFU suspended operations for the duration of the War.


Calgary Bronks changed its name to Stampeders on September 28 and adopted the colors of blue and gold. IRFU resumed play.


Montreal Alouettes were organized. WIFU resumed play. Regina Roughriders were renamed Saskatchewan Roughriders. Air travel in football was used for first time. Argos flew to Winnipeg for pre-season games.


Hamilton Tigers of the IRFU (Big Four), joined the ORFU, and the Hamilton Wildcats of the ORFU joined the Big Four on April 9. Saskatchewan Roughriders adopted the colors of green and white. Calgary Stampeders introduced pageantry to the Grey Cup Game with saddle horses and chuck wagons. Calgary reverts to the colors of red and white. Stampeders defeated Ottawa 12-7 for their first Grey Cup victory.


Edmonton Eskimos rejoined the WIFU and adopted the colors of green and gold. Wearing of helmets was made compulsory. Western Canada Rugby Football Union ceased to exist.

Game Tracker

mtl Montreal Alouettes
ham Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Sunday, Nov 23   1:00PM ET
Sold Out
edm Edmonton Eskimos
cgy Calgary Stampeders
Sunday, Nov 23   4:30PM ET
Fan Poll
Which starting QB would be your choice in a winner-take-all game?
1) Zach Collaros
2) Jonathan Crompton
3) Bo Levi Mitchell
4) Mike Reilly