History | CFL.ca | Official Site of the Canadian Football League


Hamilton Tigers and Hamilton Wildcats amalgamated to form Hamilton Tiger-Cats. Regina officially changed its name to Saskatchewan Roughriders on April 1. WIFU gave the third place team in standings a playoff berth. The first professional playoff game was played at night under lights - Winnipeg at Edmonton.


The B.C. Lions were formed in January at the Arctic Club. E. Kent Phillips of Saskatoon was appointed Commissioner of WIFU.


Television revenue for the first time. CRU was paid $7,500 by CBC for Grey Cup TV rights. CBLT Toronto was the only station to carry the game live.


Three television stations carried the Grey Cup game live, and the CRU was paid $20,500 for the rights. Billy Vessels won the first Schenley Award. G. Sydney Halter, Q.C. was named Commissioner of WIFU.


B.C. entered the WIFU and adopted the colors burnt orange and brown. B.C. played its first game at Empire Games Stadium against the Montreal Alouettes on August 11. The Alouettes won 22-0. IRFU (Big Four) games were televised on the NBC national network.


IRFU awarded the third place team a play off berth. The Grey Cup game was played in the West for the first time in Vancouver's Empire Stadium, attendance 39,500, gross revenue $198,000. ORFU withdrew from Grey Cup competition.


Canadian Football Council was formed January 22 at Winnipeg and national negotiation lists were introduced. Value of a touchdown was increased from five to six points. Television rights were sold for $101,000. G. Sydney Halter, Q.C. was named Commissioner of Canadian Football Council.


Interference by eligible blockers legal up to third five-yard stripe. First Grey Cup game telecast live from coast to coast in Canada. TV rights brought $125,000.


Canadian Football Council withdrew from Canadian Rugby Union. CFC was renamed the Canadian Football League on January 19 at the Royal Alexandra Hotel in Winnipeg. G. Sydney Halter, Q.C. of Winnipeg was appointed Commissioner. The CFL opened on August 14 as the Blue Bombers defeated the Edmonton Eskimos 29-21 at Winnipeg before 18,206 spectators.

1 Brett Boyko UNLV OL
2 Alex Mateas UCONN OL
3 Daryl Waud Western DL
4 Tyler Varga Yale RB
5 Nic Demski Manitoba WR
6 Sean McEwen Calgary OL
7 Sukh Chungh Calgary OL
8 Danny Groulx Laval OL
9 Addison Richards Regina WR
10 Jacob Ruby Richmond OL
Fan Poll
Which of the top-six available free agents would you want your team to sign?
DB Johnny Sears
LB Rennie Curran
OL Glenn January
WR Aaron Kelly
WR Bakari Grant
WR Jason Barnes