November 12, 2009

Gibson’s CFL Player Awards nominees


Toronto — The Canadian Football League announced today the nominees for the 2009 Gibson’s Finest CFL Player Awards.

Voters were asked to select players from their local CFL division who, through on-field performance excellence, best represent the awards’ title – Most Outstanding Player, Most Outstanding Canadian Player, Most Outstanding Defensive Player, Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Most Outstanding Rookie and Most Outstanding Special Teams Player.

The East and West Player Award winners were selected by 62 voters, including members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) and CFL head coaches.

The winners will be announced at the 2009 Gibson’s Finest CFL Player Awards show during Grey Cup week on Thursday, November 26 at the TELUS Convention Centre in Calgary, Alberta.

Fans can purchase tickets online at

Below are the East and West Division nominees:

* – Indicates a unanimous selection


PLAYER Joffrey Reynolds Anthony Calvillo
DEFENSIVE PLAYER John Chick Anwar Stewart
CANADIAN PLAYER Ricky Foley Ben Cahoon
SPECIAL TEAMS Jason Arakgi Larry Taylor
ROOKIE Martell Mallett  Jonathan Hefney
OFFENSIVE LINEMAN Ben Archibald Scott Flory


EDITOR’S NOTE: Comments have been enabled for this article. Please click here for the CFL’s commenting policy guidelines.