November 9, 2011

2011 East & West Division All-Stars announced Staff

TORONTO — The Canadian Football League announced today the 2011 East and West Division All-Stars.

The B.C. Lions led the way in All-Stars with 12 selections, led by Most Outstanding Player nominee Travis Lulay who threw for a league-high 32 touchdowns this season. The Calgary Stampeders registered six selections, including Canadian running back Jon Cornish, who ran for a league-high nine touchdowns. The Edmonton Eskimos also had six selections, including another Canadian tailback in Jerome Messam, who became the first Canadian-born player to rush for at least 1,000 yards in over a decade. Rounding out the Western selections are the Saskatchewan Roughriders, who were led by Most Outstanding Defensive Player nominee Jerrell Freeman.

Out East, seven-time Division All-Star Anthony Calvillo leads the pack as one of seven Alouettes to be selected. The Toronto Argonauts also had seven selections, including  a pair of defensive backs in Byron Parker and Lin-J Shell. The Winnipeg Blue Bombers lead all Eastern teams with eight selections, including Doug Brown and Jovon Johnson on defence and Terrence Edwards and Brendon LaBatte on offence. The Hamilton Tiger-Cats finish up the East with five selections. Rookie sensation Chris Williams and Justin Hickman highlight the group.

The Division All-Stars were selected by 70 voters, including members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC), CFL head coaches, and CFL fans from across the country.

The FRC voting panel consists of representation from each CFL market and a national chapter.

The All-Star Balloting program reopens today for fans to make their selections for the 2011 CFL All-Stars. The final round of voting for fans closes on Sunday, November 13, prior to kickoff (1:00pm ET) of the Eastern Final in Montreal where the Alouettes host the Hamilton Tiger-Cats at Olympic Stadium.

The Western Final kicks off at 4:30pm ET in Edmonton where the Eskimos take on the Calgary Stampeders.

The CFL All-Stars will be announced on Wednesday, November 16 at Noon ET.

The All-Star Ballot will re-open later today at

QB Anthony Calvillo MTL QB Travis Lulay BC
RB Cory Boyd TOR RB Jon Cornish CGY
RB Brandon Whitaker MTL RB Jerome Messam EDM
R Terrence Edwards WPG R Weston Dressler SSK
R S.J. Green MTL R Nik Lewis CGY
R Jamel Richardson    MTL R Geroy Simon BC
R Chris Williams HAM R Fred Stamps EDM
T Josh Bourke MTL T Ben Archibald BC
T Glenn January WPG T Jovan Olafioye BC
G Scott Flory MTL G Dimitri Tsoumpas CGY
G Brendon LaBatte WPG G Greg Wojt EDM
C Dominic Picard TOR C Angus Reid BC
DT Doug Brown WPG DT Aaron Hunt BC
DT Kevin Huntley TOR DT Khalif Mitchell BC
DE Justin Hickman HAM DE Marcus Howard EDM
DE Odell Willis WPG DE Keron Williams BC
LB Chip Cox MTL LB Rod Davis EDM
LB Jamall Johnson HAM LB Solomon Elimimian BC
LB Rey Williams HAM LB Jerrell Freeman SSK
CB Byron Parker TOR CB Dante Marsh BC
CB Jovon Johnson WPG CB Rod Williams EDM
DB Johnathan Hefney WPG DB Korey Banks BC
DB Lin-J Shell TOR DB Keon Raymond CGY
S Ian Logan WPG S Craig Butler SSK
K Justin Medlock HAM K Paul McCallum BC
P Noel Prefontaine TOR P Burke Dales CGY
ST Chad Owens TOR ST Larry Taylor CGY