January 31, 2013

Commissioner Cohon named to the Order of Ontario


CFL.ca Staff

TORONTO — CFL Commissioner Mark Cohon was among 25 extraordinary Ontarians appointed to the Order of Ontario today.

The appointees to Ontario’s highest honour were chosen for their contributions to the arts, law, science, medicine, history, politics, philanthropy and the environment.

The Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, will invest the appointees at a ceremony on Wednesday, February 6 at Queen’s Park.

“The Order of Ontario recognizes extraordinary Ontarians who have made a lasting mark on the province, the country and the world. This group of remarkable citizens has made a difference in the lives of so many people over the course of a lifetime, and I’m proud to invest them with Ontario’s highest honour,” remarked The Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario.

Cohon, who also serves as Chair of the Ontario Science Centre’s board of Trustees is credited with bringing both Canadian institutions to prominence as a result of his exemplary leadership.

Created in 1986, the Order of Ontario, the province’s highest official honour, recognizes the highest level of individual excellence and achievement in any field.