April 3, 2013

Roster changes made ahead of Saturday’s East West Bowl

CFL.ca Staff

LONDON, Ont. — Roster changes were announced Friday for the 11th East West Bowl, presented by Under Armour, which is set for Saturday at TD Waterhouse Stadium on the campus of Western University in London, Ont.

The annual CIS football prospects game kicks off at 1 p.m. EST, live on Rogers TV, Cable 13 in London and on the web at CIS-SIC.tv.

On the East side, defensive back Randy Williams from the University of Ottawa was replaced by McGill’s Mattey Ossom due to an injury suffered before his scheduled departure for London. Kyle McLean from Mount Allison was also added to the Eastern lineup and will play receiver while also handling kicking duties.
The West squad also lost a player to an injury, Saskatchewan receiver Kit Hillis, who was replaced by Matt Uren from the host Western Mustangs. Like Williams, Hillis didn’t make the trip to London.

In addition to Uren, no less than five players were added to complete the 46-man West roster, including Waterloo offensive lineman Matt Kielo, McMaster linebacker Aram Eisho, Windsor defensive lineman Thai Pham, as well as Western teammates Andrew Pedda and Brandon Murphy, both defensive linemen.

Players take the field today at TD Waterhouse Stadium for the fourth and final day of practices before tomorrow’s all-star contest. The annual East West Bowl banquet is set for tonight at 6:30 p.m. at Western’s Perth Hall.

The East West Bowl showcases – for the most part – CIS players who will be eligible for the following year’s CFL Canadian draft.

The East side is comprised of student-athletes representing schools from the Atlantic and Quebec conferences, as well as Queen’s, Ottawa and Toronto. The West contingent is made up of standouts from Canada West and the remaining OUA universities.



QB Billy McPhee Queen’s 6-3 195 Burlington, Ont.
QB Ben Rossong Saint Mary’s 6-3 210 Sackville, N.S.
RB Sean Murphy McGill 5-10 199 Ottawa, Ont.
RB Pascal Lochard Laval 6-0 215 Montreal, Que.
RB Jordan Botel Mt. Allison 5-10 195 Prince George, B.C.
RB Jean-Christophe Beaulieu Sherbrooke 6-3 220 Trois-Rivières, Que.
RB Zack Clarke Acadia 5-10 190 Sackville, N.S.
REC Francis Lapointe Sherbrooke 5-11 170 Mt. Tremblant, Que.
REC Jordan Catterall StFX 5-10 163 Oakville, Ont.
REC Devon Bailey StFX 6-5 202 Mississauga, Ont.
REC Alex Pierzchalski Toronto 6-5 216 London, Ont.
REC Adam Thibault Laval 6-0 205 Quebec City, Que.
REC Josh Blanchard Mt. Allison 5-10 175 Oromocto, N.B.
REC Kristopher Bastien Concordia 6-3 211 St. Lambert, Que.
REC Alexander Fox Bishop’s 5-9 190 Montreal West, Que.
REC Nathan Heather Bishop’s 6-1 190 Oromocto, N.B.
REC Kyle McLean Mount Allison 6-1 190 Nepean, Ont.
OL Pierre Lavertu Laval 6-3 289 Quebec City, Que.
OL Terry Hart StFX 6-3 295 Barrie, Ont.
OL Adam Valchuck Ottawa 6-4 281 Stoney Creek, Ont.
OL Laurent Duvernay-Tardif McGill 6-5 280 St. Hilaire, Que.
OL David Foucault Montreal 6-7 305 LaSalle, Que.
OL Aaron Wheaton Toronto 6-5 290 Ajax, Ont.
OL Karl Monjoie Laval 6-1 295 Montreal, Que.

DL Derek Wiggan Queen’s 6-1 247 Toronto, Ont.
DL Jean-Christophe Gagnon Sherbrooke 6-2 260 Trois-Rivières, Que.
DL Nigel Romick Saint Mary’s 6-5 240 Thunder Bay, Ont.
DL Mathieu Girard Montreal 6-4 275 Laval, Que.
DL Quinn Smith Concordia 6-1 321 Scarborough, Ont.
DL Quinn Everett Mt. Allison 6-3 305 Glen Haven, N.S.
DL Kirby Fletcher Acadia 6-3 300 Grimshaw, Alta.
DL Martin Pesek Acadia 6-3 250 Toronto, Ont.
LB Sam Sabourin Queen’s 6-1 223 Stittsville, Ont.
LB Pier-Yves Lavergne Ottawa 6-0 210 Gatineau, Que.
LB Jesse Briggs McGill 6-1 222 Kelowna, B.C.
LB Max Caron Concordia 6-2 232 Kingston, Ont.
LB Adrian Clarke Bishop’s 6-3 235 Mississauga, Ont.
LB Christopher Johnson Toronto 5-10 215 Scarborough, Ont.
DB Andrew Lue Queen’s 6-2 205 Markham, Ont.
DB Eric Black Saint Mary’s 6-2 175 Toronto, Ont.
DB RJ Cornish Saint Mary’s 5-11 185 Winnipeg, Man.
DB Mattey Ossom McGill 5-10 187 Dorval, Que.
DB Antoine Pruneau Montreal 6-1 190 Montreal, Que.
DB Trevor Harvey Toronto 5-9 175 Toronto, Ont.
DB Charlton Elliott StFX 6-0 185 Pickering, Ont.
DB Christopher Lavaud Laval 5-9 175 Montreal, Que.
Originally selected but unable to participate:
DB Randy Williams Ottawa 5-11 175 Ottawa, Ont.

Special Teams
K/P Kyle McLean Mount Allison 6-1 190 Nepean, Ont.

Coaching Staff
Head Coach: Glen Constantin, Laval

Assistant coaches: Jeff Cummins (Acadia), Peter Fraser (Acadia), Chris Judd (Acadia), Shad McLachlan (Acadia), Kevin Mackey (Bishop’s), Corey Sly (Bishop’s), Brad Collinson (Laval), Clint Uttley (McGill), Pat Boies (McGill), Ronald Hilaire (Montreal), Fabrice Raymond (Montreal), Kelly Jeffrey (Mount Allison), Scott Brady (Mount Allison), Pat Sheahan (Queen’s), Pat Tracey (Queen’s), David Lessard (Sherbrooke), Guillaume Boucher (Sherbrooke), Dean Jones (Saint Mary’s), Gary Waterman (StFX), Josh Lambert (StFX), Tom Flaxman (Toronto), Ken Mazurek (Toronto).


QB Marshall Ferguson McMaster 6-2 200 Kingston, Ont.
QB Austin Kennedy Windsor 5-10 205 Windsor, Ont.
RB Anthony Coombs Manitoba 5-9 190 Winnipeg, Man
RB Tyrrel Wilson Laurier 5-11 185 Hamilton, Ont.
RB Rob Farquharson Guelph 5-9 210 Niagara Falls, Ont.
RB Zack Davis York 6-1 240 Niagara Falls, Ont.
RB Brandon Deschamps UBC 6-0 195 Prince George, B.C.
REC Brian Marshall Western 6-0 200 London, Ont.
REC Andrew Smith Manitoba 6-2 200 Nanaimo, B.C.
REC Evan Pszczonak Windsor 6-0 160 Amherstburg, Ont.
REC Landon Buch Regina 6-0 200 Regina, Sask.
REC Jay Smith Regina 6-0 200 Regina, Sask.
REC Paul Cecile Waterloo 5-11 185 Azilda, Ont.
REC Matt Uren Western 5-9 182 London, Ont.
OL Branden Stevens Calgary 6-2 290 Winnipeg, Man.
OL Michael Massel Laurier 6-5 260 London, Ont.
OL Jeremy Deneau Laurier 6-5 260 Amherstburg, Ont.
OL Lane Bryksa Saskatchewan 6-2 265 Saskatoon, Sask.
OL Ethan Schnell UBC 6-5 275 Kamloops, B.C.
OL Aaron Picton Regina 6-3 280 Regina, Sask.
OL Matt Kielo Waterloo 6-5 260 Kingston, Ont.
Originally selected but unable to participate:
REC Kit Hillis Saskatchewan 5-9 175 Saskatoon, Sask.

DL Dylan Ainsworth Western 6-3 225 Delta, B.C.
DL Evan Gill Manitoba 6-4 275 Winnipeg, Man.
DL Steven Giang Alberta 6-1 280 Edmonton, Alta.
DL Stephon Miller Windsor 6-3 235 Pickering, Ont.
DL Jeff Finley Guelph 6-3 260 St. Catharines, Ont.
DL Adam Dickson McMaster 6-4 325 Niagara Falls, Ont.
DL Andrew Pedda Western 6-1 294 London, Ont.
DL Brandon Murphy Western 6-5 275 Kitchener, Ont.
DL Thai Pham Windsor 6-3 265 London, Ont.
LB Beau Landry Western 5-11 201 Kitchener, Ont.
LB Cory Roboch Calgary 6-1 220 Calgary, Alta.
LB Richard Zacharias Saskatchewan 5-10 227 Hague, Sask.
LB Vivie Bojilov UBC 5-11 210 New Westminster, B.C.
LB James Tuck York 6-1 220 Aurora, Ont.
LB John Rush Guelph 6-1 223 Niagara Falls, Ont.
LB Aram Eisho McMaster 6-1 210 Hamilton, Ont.
DB Steven Ventresca McMaster 6-0 184 Hamilton, Ont.
DB Allan Dicks McMaster 5-9 185 Abbotsford, B.C.
DB Adam Ballingall Calgary 6-2 185 Kamloops, B.C.
DB Josh MacDougall Alberta 6-0 200 Oakville, Ont.
DB Josh Burns Windsor 6-1 170 LaSalle, Ont.
DB Christian Mahler Waterloo 5-11 175 Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.
DB Curtis Good Waterloo 6-1 185 Kitchener, Ont.
DB Simon Bahru Western 6-1 194 London, Ont.

Special Teams
K/P Tyler Crapigna McMaster 5-7 164 Nepean, Ont.

Coaching Staff
Head Coach: Stefan Ptaszek, McMaster

Assistant coaches: Chris Morris (Alberta), Sam Grewcock (Alberta), Blake Nill (Calgary), Todd Galloway (Guelph), Michael Faulds (Laurier), Dwayne Cameron (Laurier), Irv Daymond (Laurier), Brian Dobie (Manitoba), Brian Brock (McMaster), Sheldon Neald (Regina), Brian Towriss (Saskatchewan), Jason Sulz (Saskatchewan), Shawn Olson (UBC), Joe Paopao (Waterloo), Marshall Bingeman (Waterloo), Matt Robichaud (Western), Joe D’Amore (Windsor), Donnavan Carter (Windsor), Steve Snyder (Windsor), Warren Craney (York), Mike Comeau (York), Harry Laflamme (York).