October 30, 2013

2013 team Player Award winners announced

CFL.ca/Adam Gagnon

CFL.ca Staff

TORONTO — The Canadian Football League (CFL) announced today the team winners for the 2013 Gibson’s Finest CFL Player Awards.

The players were selected by voting members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) and the CFL head coaches.

In this first ballot, FRC representatives from each CFL city plus the respective head coach submitted votes for the six categories. Voters were asked to select players from their local CFL club who through on-field performance excellence, best represent the awards’ title – Most Outstanding Player, Most Outstanding Canadian Player, Most Outstanding Defensive Player, Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Most Outstanding Rookie, and Most Outstanding Special Teams Player.

The East and West Division winners for the 2013 Gibson’s Finest CFL Player Awards will be announced on Thursday, November 7 at noon ET.

The 2013 Gibson’s Finest CFL Player Awards will be handed out on Thursday, November 21 at Conexus Centre in Regina. Tickets for the show are available at www.conexusartscentre.ca or by calling (306)-525-9999.  Select awards show tickets also provide access to the Leader-Post Player Awards Post Party at Conexus Centre.

Below are the first ballot results:

* – Indicates a unanimous selection

Player – Adam Bighill
Defensive – Adam Bighill *
Canadian – Andrew Harris *
Offensive Lineman – Jovan Olafioye
Special Teams – Tim Brown
Rookie – Seydou Junior Haidara

Player – Jon Cornish *
Defensive – Charleston Hughes *
Canadian – Jon Cornish *
Offensive Lineman – Stanley Bryant
Special Teams – Rene Paredes *
Rookie – Brett Jones*

Player – Fred Stamps
Defensive – Marcus Howard
Canadian – Shamawd Chambers
Offensive Lineman – Matt O’Donnell
Special Teams – Eric Samuels
Rookie – Eric Samuels

Player – Kory Sheets
Defensive – Tyron Brackenridge
Canadian – Chris Getzlaf*
Offensive Lineman – Brendon LaBatte
Special Teams – Ricky Schmitt
Rookie – Levi Steinhauer


Player – Henoc Muamba*
Defensive – Henoc Muamba*
Canadian – Henoc Muamba*
Offensive Lineman – Glenn January
Special Teams – Will Ford
Rookie – Ian Wild

Player – Henry Burris
Defensive – Brian Bulcke
Canadian – Brian Bulcke
Offensive Lineman – Greg Wojt*
Special Teams – Marc Beswick
Rookie – CJ Gable*

Player – Ricky Ray
Defensive – Robert McCune
Canadian – Andre Durie *
Offensive Lineman – Jeff Keeping
Special Teams – Swayze Waters
Rookie – John Chiles

Player – Chip Cox
Defensive – Chip Cox*
Canadian – Mike Edem
Offensive Lineman – Luc Brodeur-Jourdain
Special Teams – Daryl Townsend
Rookie – Mike Edem