January 13, 2014

CFL Scouting Bureau releases Winter rankings

CFL.ca Staff

TORONTO — The Canadian Football League Scouting Bureau today published its winter edition of the top 15 ranked prospects eligible for the 2014 CFL Canadian Draft.

For the second-straight ranking, McGill offensive lineman Laurent Duvernay-Tardif is the top ranked prospect. Duvernay-Tardif is followed by two other offensive linemen – Pierre Lavertu from Laval is ranked second and David Foucault from Montreal is third.

Rounding out the top five are St. Francis Xavier wide receiver Devon Bailey and Simon Fraser offensive lineman Matthias Gooseen, who made the largest jump in the rankings, moving up ten spots to fifth.


The ranking includes four offensive linemen, four linebackers, three defensive linemen, two defensive backs one receiver and one running back.

Queen’s has three players on the list, the most by any one school.

All 15 ranked players on last winter’s CFL Scouting Bureau list (it was published in December) were selected in the 2013 CFL Draft. Seven of those players were selected in the first round.

Here is the full ranking:

Winter Scouting Bureau Ranking
Rank Name Position School
1 (1)
Laurent Duvernay-Tardif OL McGill
2 (4)
Pierre Lavertu OL Laval
3 (3)
David Foucault OL Montreal
4 (2)
Devon Bailey WR St. Francis Xavier
5 (15)
Matthias Goosen OL Simon Fraser
6 (–)
Evan Gill DL Manitoba
7 (6)
Beau Landry LB Western
8 (8)
Andrew Lue DB Queen’s
9 (–)
Anthony Coombs RB Manitoba
10 (7)
Max Caron LB Concordia
11 (12)
Casey Chin LB Simon Fraser
12 (9)
Sam Sabourin LB Queen’s
13 (5)
Adam Thibault DB Laval
14 (10)
Derek Wiggan DL Queen’s
15 (–)
Dylan Ainsworth DL Western

Please note: The ranking in the parenthesis is the player’s ranking position from the last CFL Scouting Bureau published in September, 2013.

The 2014 CFL Combine will be held in Toronto from March 21 – March 23. The date of the 2014 CFL Draft is May 13.

The CFL’s Scouting Bureau is comprised of CFL scouts, player personnel directors and general managers from the league’s nine teams.