May 11, 2024

Cutdown Tracker: Teams make their first round of cuts

TORONTO — is tracking every team’s roster moves as clubs are required to reduce their numbers throughout training camp.

In this first round of roster cuts, teams will reduce their rosters to 85 players, excluding non-counters. They have until 11:59 p.m. ET today, Saturday, May 11 to announce their cuts.

»Buy tickets for the 2024 CFL season here
»View the entire 2024 CFL schedule here
»Shop for CFL gear ahead of the 2024 season here
O’Leary: Rookie camps get the 2024 CFL season rolling
» Subscribe to the CFL’s newsletter for exclusive offers and league updates

On Sunday, May 12, training camps will fully open across the league. Preseason action gets underway on Monday, May 20, when the Winnipeg Blue Bombers visit the Saskatchewan Roughriders at 4 p.m. ET.

The 2024 CFL season kicks off on June 6 as the rematch of the 110th Grey Cup gets underway between the defending champions, Montreal Alouettes, and the Winnipeg Blue Bombers at Princess Auto Stadium at 8:30 p.m. ET.

*Denotes American
**Denotes Global


Released: Linebacker Emmanuel Falola**, defensive lineman Nelson Jordan*

The Argonauts have moved linebacker Malik Clements* and wide receivers Jeff Badet* and Aaron Parker* to the retired list. Defensive lineman John Daka* was moved to the suspended list.


Released: Wide receiver O’Joshua Bunton*, running back Kennedy Brooks*, linebackers Jaxon Ciraolo-Brown, Jaylen Moody* and Marcus Murphy*, defensive back Mark Fields II*, defensive lineman Elijah Ponder*, and defensive back Jalon Edwards-Cooper*

Transferred to suspended list: Offensive lineman Brandon Council*, offensive lineman Jerald Hawkins*, offensive lineman Jonathan Hubbard*, offensive lineman Sadarius Hutcherson*, and wide receiver Dazz Newsome*

Added from junior: Linebacker Stephen Smith


Released: Defensive back Isaiah Abraham*, defensive back Justin Ford*, and defensive lineman Jonathian Turner*


Defensive back Tareke Lewis was one of 16 released from REDBLACKS camp on Saturday (

Released: Defensive backs Bralen Trahan*, Elijah Jones*, Yusuf Corker* and Tareke Lewis*, linebackers Tylar Wiltz*, Caliph Brice* and Sherrod Greene*, defensive linemen Thomas Schaffer**, Deyon Sizer* and Owen Carney*, running back Tyler Hoosman*, receivers Kris Thornton*, Joseph Walker*, Jayshon Jackson*, Tyler Hudson* and KeSean Carter*


Released: Defensive lineman Ali Fayad*, defensive lineman Jordan Lewis*, defensive lineman David Green*, offensive lineman Kendall Randolph*, receiver Bryce Mitchell*, receiver Keytaon Thompson*, kicker Jose Borregales*, and defensive lineman Anthony Bennett

Transferred to suspended list: Defensive back James Campbell*, defensive back Montrae Braswell*, receiver Braxton Burmeister*, and defensive lineman Kenny Randall*


Released: Defensive lineman Terry Beckner Jr.*, receiver Dontario Drummond* and linebacker Lino Schröter**

The Stamps have placed defensive back Daniel Amoako and offensive lineman Kyle Saxelid on the injured-veteran list. They’ve also moved receiver Malachi Wideman* to the suspended list.


Released: Defensive lineman Mo Diallo, wide receiver Terry Godwin II*, defensive back Caleb Biggers*, defensive lineman Jamal Davis*, tight end Thaddeus Moss*, wide receiver JuanCarlos Santana*, kicker Keiran Burnham and wide receiver Kaine Stevenson.

Retired: Defensive back Javien Elliott*, linebacker Chris Kolarevic*, fullback Bailey Feltmate, defensive tackle Ted Laurent.

The Tiger-Cats also added punter Bailey Flint** from their suspended list, while adding linebacker Nic Cross and offensive lineman Joel Figueroa* to the six-game injured list. Wide receiver Tyler Ternowski was added to the veteran injured list and added wide receiver Cameron Batson* to their suspended list.


Released: Linebacker Bryce Notree*


Released: Linebacker Markail Benton*, wide receiver Hunter Brown, quarterback Kaleb Eleby*, defensive back Jalen Green*, wide receiver Charles Headen III*, running back Brian Herrien*, offensive lineman Lyndell Hudson II*, defensive back Cail Jackson Jr.*, quarterback Obadiah Jones*, defensive lineman Azur Kamara*, defensive lineman Trevon Mason*, wide receiver Tony Tate*, linebacker Chris Whittaker*

The comment system on this website is now powered by the Forums. We'd love for you to be part of the conversation; click the Start Discussion button below to register an account and join the community!