February 1, 2010

Meet the CFHOF Class of 2010

2010 Induction Class Proudly Announced by Canadian Football Hall of Fame

HAMILTON — Players Bob Cameron, Tracy Ham, Don Narcisse, and Elfrid Payton and builder Joe Pistilli have been chosen for induction into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame, it was announced today.

Four Grey Cup champions and a builder who has long championed the great game of Canadian football make up the Class of 2010.

The class includes significant amateur representation. In addition to being a CFL all-star, Bob Cameron won the Hec Crighton award as the top university football player in the country at Acadia University, and Joe Pistilli is a legendary leader in junior football circles in Quebec and amateur football across Canada.

While congratulating the class on tremendous individual careers, Canadian Football League Commissioner Mark Cohon remarked on the group’s influence on the game beyond CFL stadiums.

“While Cameron and Pistilli’s impact on amateur football are obvious, the careers of their three classmates also undoubtedly inspired countless young people to pursue our game and the lessons inherent in it,” Cohon said.

“Tracy Ham and Elfrid Payton were at the forefront of the successful rebirth of the Montreal Alouettes, a huge factor in the phenomenal growth of amateur football in Quebec, growth that continues to this day. And Don Narcisse was one of the most popular members of the 1989 Roughriders team whose last second Grey Cup victory certainly made all sorts of Saskatchewan kids think nothing could be cooler than playing football,” he said.

“When we honour this Class of Inductees, just as when we honour all of our Canadian Football Hall of Famers, we are doing more than recognizing what they have accomplished as individuals within our game. We are also celebrating the game itself, and the difference it has made in the lives of all of us who have been a part of it, and loved it.”

After starring at Acadia University, Cameron was a punter with the Winnipeg Blue Bombers from 1980 to 2001, winning three Grey Cups, and the honour of being named to three All-Canadian teams. In 1988, he was voted the Most Valuable Canadian in the Grey Cup game.

The CFL’s Most Outstanding Player in 1989, Tracy Ham starred at quarterback for the Edmonton Eskimos, Toronto Argonauts, and Baltimore Stallions before joining the Alouettes. The Most Outstanding Player in the 1995 Grey Cup game, he held at the time of his retirement the record for Most Rushing Yards by a Quarterback.

Don Narcisse was a tremendous receiver for the Riders, surpassing 1,000 receiving yards in a season seven times.  In that 1989 season, he had 81 receptions and 11 touchdowns, including one in that epic Grey Cup. He was an All-Canadian four times, and was chosen by Saskatchewan fans as the Most Popular Roughrider three times during his 13 season career.

A member of two Grey Cup winning teams and a five-time CFL All-Star, Elfrid Payton was a master at sacking the quarterback for the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, Baltimore Stallions, Montreal Alouettes, Toronto Argonauts, Shreveport Pirates and Edmonton Eskimos. A CFL All-Star five times, he trails only Grover Covington on the all-time list of players with the most sacks in league history, with an incredible 154.

Joe Pistilli was involved in all levels of junior football in Quebec for 42 years, as well as being an important part of Football Canada, at the national level, for 29 years. A former Commissioner of the Quebec Junior Football League, he has also served as President of Football Quebec, Director of Football Canada, and President of Football Canada.           

“Joe’s passion for the game and the positive influence it can have on young people has been evident in every task he has taken on over his many years of service, and he will always be an inspiration to all of us,” said Richard Munro, Chief Executive Officer of Football Canada.

“As the national body responsible for amateur football in Canada, we’re thrilled that the Canadian Football Hall of Fame is recognizing Joe and, through his honour, the thousands of people who work so hard on behalf of the amateur game in Canada.”

The Class of 2010 will be formally inducted this fall during Canadian Football Hall of Fame Weekend. An announcement on this year’s host city, as well as the exact dates, will be made later this spring.

The new inductees bring to 244 the total number of Hall of Fame members honoured in the Hall’s Zone of Champions, which features busts of the members. The Canadian Football Hall of Fame and Museum operates as non-profit registered charity. Located in Hamilton Ontario since 1963, and in its current location next to Hamilton City Hall since 1972, the Hall is home to more than 30,000 Canadian football artefacts, ranging from equipment to trophies, photos and videos.