November 10, 2010

CFL East and West All-Stars announced Staff

The Canadian Football League announced today the 2010 East and West Division All-Stars.

Out West, Calgary dominated the All-Star ballot with 13 selections led by quarterback Henry Burris who threw for a league high 38 touchdowns this season. The Saskatchewan Roughriders had six selections including the CFL’s leading receiver Andy Fantuz.  The B.C. Lions also had six selections including the CFL’s oldest player Paul McCallum who was chosen as the West’s kicker. The Edmonton Eskimos rounded out the West All-Stars with two selections.

Leading the East All-Stars is Montreal Alouettes veteran quarterback and four time CFL All-Star Anthony Calvillo. The Alouettes had nine players chosen to the East All-Star squad this season. The Toronto Argonauts had seven selections to the East team including dynamic playmakers Cory Boyd and Chad Owens. Winnipeg also had seven players chosen to the team including the CFL’s rushing leader Fred Reid and defensive end Phillip Hunt who led the league in sacks. The Hamilton Tiger-Cats had four selections to the team led by versatile linebacker and defensive standout Markeith Knowlton.

The Division All-Stars were selected by 69 voters, including members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC), CFL head coaches and CFL fans from across the country.

Nearly three hundred thousand player selections were cast by fans across the country through All-Star Balloting, presented by The Vancouver Province, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Leader-Post, The StarPhoenix, National Post and the Montreal Gazette.

The FRC voting panel consists of representation from each CFL market and a national chapter.

The All-Star Balloting program reopens today for fans to make their selections for the 2010 CFL All-Stars. The final round of voting for fans closes on Sunday, November 14, prior to first game of the 2010 CFL Playoffs.

The CFL All-Stars will be announced on Wednesday, November 17.

Fans can vote by visiting

QB Anthony Calvillo MTL QB Henry Burris CGY
RB Cory Boyd TOR RB Wes Cates SSK
RB Fred Reid WPG RB Joffrey Reynolds CGY
R Arland Bruce III HAM R Romby Bryant CGY
R Terrence Edwards WPG R Andy Fantuz SSK
R Jamel Richardson    MTL R Nik Lewis CGY
R Dave Stala HAM R Fred Stamps EDM
T Josh Bourke MTL T Ben Archibald CGY
T Rob Murphy TOR T Gene Makowsky SSK
G Scott Flory MTL G Jovan Olafioye BC
G Brendon LaBatte WPG G Dimitri Tsoumpas CGY
C Marwan Hage HAM C Jeremy O’Day SSK
DT Doug Brown WPG DT DeVone Claybrooks    CGY
DT Kevin Huntley TOR DT Tom Johnson CGY
DE John Bowman MTL DE Charleston Hughes CGY
DE Phillip Hunt WPG DE Brent Johnson BC
LB Chip Cox MTL LB Korey Banks BC
LB Kevin Eiben TOR LB Barrin Simpson SSK
LB Markeith Knowlton HAM LB Juwan Simpson CGY
CB Mark Estelle MTL CB Dwight Anderson CGY
CB Jovon Johnson WPG CB Brandon Browner CGY
DB Jerald Brown MTL DB Ryan Phillips BC
DB Lin-J Shell TOR DB Chris Thompson EDM
S Willie Pile TOR S James Patrick SSK
K Damon Duval MTL K Paul McCallum BC
P Mike Renaud WPG P Burke Dales CGY
ST Chad Owens TOR ST Yonus Davis BC