September 19, 2012

CFL Scouting Bureau releases September rankings

CFL Staff

TORONTO – The Canadian Football League Scouting Bureau today published its September top 15 ranking of prospects eligible for the 2013 CFL Canadian Draft.

The number one ranked prospect is Stefan Charles, a 6’5”, 310 pound defensive lineman from the University of Regina Rams. Through two games this season, Charles has registered five tackles and two quarterback sacks.

Rounding out the top five are University of Calgary defensive lineman Linden Gaydosh, Oregon linebacker Bo Lokombo, McMaster offensive lineman Matt Sewell and Calgary running back Steven Lumbala.

Full Rankings:
» Have a look at the full September CFL Scouting Bureau Rankings here.


Two players on the CFL Scouting Bureau’s first ranking for the 2013 draft class have brothers who are currently playing or played in the CFL.

Calgary running back Steven Lumbala, ranked fifth, is the younger brother of Rolly Lumbala, a full back with the BC Lions. Rolly was drafted ninth overall by the Lions in the 2008 CFL Canadian Draft.

Eastern Michigan defensive lineman Kalonji Kashama, ranked eighth, is the younger brother of Winnipeg Blue Bombers defensive end Fernand Kashama and former CFL players Hakeem and Alain Kashama. Fernand was drafted 16th overall by the Calgary Stampeders in the 2008 CFL Canadian Draft and Alain was drafted eighth overall by the Montreal Alouettes in the 2004 CFL Canadian Draft. Hakeem was undrafted.


The ranking includes six defensive linemen, five offensive linemen, two receivers, one linebacker and one running back.
Last year, Ben Heenan was ranked first in the September ranking and was eventually selected first overall by the Saskatchewan Roughriders.
Five prospects listed on the September ranking last year were drafted in the first round of the 2012 CFL Canadian Draft.

Here is the full ranking:

1.     Stefan Charles DL Regina
2.     Linden Gaydosh DL Calgary
3.     Bo Lokombo LB Oregon
4.     Matt Sewell OL McMaster
5.     Steven Lumbala RB Calgary
6.     Corey Watman OL Eastern Michigan
7.     Jesse Joseph DL UConn
8.     Kalonji Kashama DL Eastern Michigan
9.     Brett Jones OL Regina
10.   Ben D’Aguilar DL McMaster
11.   Stephen Alli WR Florida
12.   Elie Ngoyi DL Bishops
13.   Brander Craighead OL UTEP
14.   Nolan MacMillan OL Iowa
15.   Yannick Morin-Plante WR Laval

The next CFL Scouting Bureau will be published following the CIS season.

The CFL’s Scouting Bureau is comprised of CFL scouts, player personnel directors and general managers from the league’s eight teams.