November 5, 2014

Awards Season: 2014 team awards announced Staff

TORONTO — The Canadian Football League (CFL) announced today the team winners for the 2014 CFL Awards.

The players were selected by voting members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) and CFL head coaches.

In this first ballot, FRC representatives from each CFL city plus the respective head coach submitted votes for the six categories. Voters were asked to select players from their local CFL club who, through on-field performance excellence, best represent the awards’ titles – Most Outstanding Player, Most Outstanding Canadian Player, Most Outstanding Defensive Player, Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Most Outstanding Rookie, and Most Outstanding Special Teams Player.

The East and West Division winners for the 2014 CFL Awards will be announced on Thursday, November 13 at noon ET.

The 2014 CFL Awards will be handed out on Thursday, November 27 at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre in Vancouver, B.C. Tickets for the show are available at Tickets can be upgraded to provide access to the pre-show reception, the Concert Series VIP viewing deck or the CFLPA Official Player’s Party at FIVESIXTY.

Below are the first ballot results:

*Indicates a unanimous selection

Player: Solomon Elimimian*
Defensive: Solomon Elimimian*
Canadian: Rolly Lumbala
Offensive Lineman: Jovan Olafioye
Special Teams: Paul McCallum
Rookie: Josh Johnson







Player: Adarius Bowman
Odell Willis*
Eddie Steele
Offensive Lineman:
Simeon Rottier
Special Teams:
Deon Lacey
Dexter McCoil*







Player: Jon Cornish
Defensive: Shawn Lemon
Canadian: Jon Cornish*
Offensive Lineman: Brett Jones
Special Teams: Rob Maver*
Rookie: Sederrik Cunningham







Player: John Chick
Defensive: John Chick
Canadian: Ricky Foley
Offensive Lineman: Dominic Picard
Special Teams: Tristan Jackson
Rookie: Mark LeGree







Player: Drew Willy
Defensive: Maurice Leggett
Canadian: Lirim Hajrullahu
Offensive Lineman: Glenn January
Special Teams: Lirim Hajrullahu*
Rookie: Lirim Hajrullahu*








Player: Zach Collaros
Defensive: Simoni Lawrence
Canadian: Ted Laurent
Offensive Lineman: Brian Simmons*
Special Teams: Justin Medlock
Rookie: Taylor Reed









Player: Ricky Ray*
Defensive: Tristan Okpalaugo
Canadian: Chris Van Zeyl
Offensive Lineman: Chris Van Zeyl
Special Teams: Swayze Waters
Rookie: Tristan Okpalaugo*








Player: Jasper Simmons
Defensive: Jasper Simmons
Canadian: Justin Capicciotti
Offensive Lineman: Jon Gott
Special Teams: Brett Maher
Rookie: Antoine Pruneau*







Player: Duron Carter
Defensive: Bear Woods
Canadian: Jeff Perrett
Offensive Lineman: Jeff Perrett
Special Teams: Sean Whyte
Rookie: Gabriel Knapton*