November 17, 2019

Grey Cup Bound: Ticats, Bombers set for clash in Calgary

Johany Jutras/

TORONTO — Following the Hamilton Tiger-Cats’ 36-16 win over the Edmonton Eskimos’ and the Winnipeg Blue Bombers holding off the Saskatchewan Roughriders 20-13, the 107th Grey Cup presented by Shaw is set for next Sunday.

This will be the first time the two teams have met in the championship since 1984 when Winnipeg defeated Hamilton 47-17.



  • The Hamilton Tiger-Cats are 8-12 (.400) in the Grey Cup. They last played for the championship in the 102nd Grey Cup in BC where they were defeated 20-16 by Calgary. They last won the Grey Cup in 1999 by a score of 32-21 over Calgary.
  • The Winnipeg Blue Bombers own a 10-14 (.417) record in the Grey Cup. They last appeared in the championship game in 2011 at the 99th Grey Cup where they were defeated by the BC Lions 34-23. The last time Winnipeg won the Grey Cup was in 1990 against Edmonton.
  • Teams from Hamilton and Winnipeg have met in the championship game ten times, including as the Tigers and ‘Pegs in 1935 and in 1943 as military service teams. The modern-day incarnations of the two teams have met in the Championship game eight times:
    • 1953 (Hamilton won 12-6)
    • 1957 (Hamilton won 32-7)
    • 1958 (Winnipeg won 35-28)
    • 1959 (Winnipeg won 21-7)
    • 1961 (Winnipeg won 21-14)
    • 1962 (Winnipeg won 28-27)
    • 1965 (Hamilton won 22-16)
    • 1984 (Winnipeg won 47-17)
  • Hamilton swept the season series:
  • Orlondo Steinauer and Mike O’Shea will be making their Grey Cup head coaching debuts. Steinauer played in three Grey Cups, winning twice (1999 and 2004). He won the Grey Cup as the defensive backs coach of the Toronto Argonauts in 2012. O’Shea played in and won three Grey Cups with Toronto.
  • Dane Evans will make his Grey Cup debut, while Zach Collaros will be starting in his second Grey Cup start with his first coming in 2014.
  • Dane Evans is 1-0 against Winnipeg in his career while Zach Collaros is 0-1 versus Hamilton.
  • The game will mark the first time Calgary has hosted the Grey Cup in a decade and the fifth time overall (1975, 1993, 2000 and 2009).
Fan Poll
Who do you think will meet in the 107th Grey Cup?